Books I Dug from 2014

I was challenged to (or maybe it was simply suggested that I) share my favorite books from 2014 by Kellee & Ricki of Unleashing Readers. Check out Ricki’s choices here. The following are a handful of my favorites – some that were published in 2014 others that I simply didn’t discover until 2014. They are listed in no particular order.

El Deafo by Cece Bell – best book of the year.
el deafoMy Teacher is a Monster (No I Am Not) by Peter Brown – rivals The Curious Garden as my favorite of his books.

my teacher is a monster

The Adventures of Beekle: The Unimaginary Friend by Dan Santat – fingers crossed as award season nears.

beekle

City Cat by Kate Banks & Lauren Castillo – my introduction to LC’s wonderful world of illustration.

city cat

One for the Murphys by Lynda Mullaly Hunt – LMH is a literary force.

one for

The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes by Arthur Conan Doyle – apparently it was a book first.

sherlock

Herman and Rosie by Gus Gordon – would have equaled Caldecott if GG were American.

herman

Ricky Ricotta’s Mighty Robot Series by Dav Pilkey & Dan Santat – newly re-illustrated versions are fabulous.

ricky

A Tangle of Knots by Lisa Graff – NBC’s Heroes went so downhill after season 1.

tangle

Platypus Police Squad Series by Jarrett J. Krosoczka – between these and Lunch Lady and Comics Squad, JJK signed 13 books for me my kids in one sitting.

platypus

There are probably loads of others I’m forgetting, but I’ll go with these ten for now. What were your favorite books from 2014?

What books are you most looking forward to in 2015? (hint: the answer should involve breakfast foods)

 

[oh, and happy 40th anniversary, mom & dad]

8 thoughts on “Books I Dug from 2014

  1. Great post and excellent selections! One of my favorite books from 2014 is PRESIDENT TAFT IS STUCK IN THE BATH by Mac Barnett, illustrated by Chris Van Dusen. I wasn’t expecting to love it when I picked it up, but it’s wacky and hilarious.

    Like

  2. Fun list! I need to get my hands on El Deafo, and I’m also still catching up on 2013 gems…AHHHHH…so much goodness! And here comes 2015, with all it’s fantastic book buzz!! Bring on the piles.

    Like

  3. El Deafo is in my books-I-got-for-Christmas pile (my family has finally stopped questioning my requests for MG and PB titles at almost-40.) My kids and I loved City Cat and Beekle from your list. My other favorites this year: Catching Kisses by Amy Gibson (PB), Under the Egg by Laura Marx Fitzgerald (MG), Brown Girl Dreaming by Jacqueline Woodson (novel in free verse), The Book With No Pictures by BJ Novak (can you call it a PB?), and A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness (Adult fantasy/romance/historical fiction). Thanks for sharing yours!

    Like

Take a comment, leave a comment

