Obligatory Blog Hop Post (My Writing Process Blog Tour)

Following my good friend’s example, blog hops die here. However, I will oblige another good friend and still participate in one. Please visit Kristine Carlson Asselin’s blog to check out her entry in the My Writing Process Blog Tour. To participate, I must answer the following four questions. Unlike previous blog tours, however, I think I might actually answer them seriously (for once):

1. What am I working on?

I am currently working on several items.

  • I’m writing a picture book series which might end up being a chapter book series which might not be any good so I might decide to stop working on it altogether.
  • I’ve got a couple ideas for new rhyming picture books, all of which are currently in the contemplative stages.
  • I’ve recently finished editing some picture books that have been acquired by publishing houses. In case you didn’t know, LADY PANCAKE AND SIR FRENCH TOAST was acquired by Sterling Children’s for a 2015 release and DEAR DRAGON: A Pen Pal Tale was acquired by Viking/Penguin (release date unknown – 2016, perhaps?).
  • I’ve also been working on a series of blog posts highlighting things I’ve learned about writing picture books. As someone relatively new to the field, I thought people might find it interesting to see what I’ve found most useful in the past two and a half years of learning.

2. How does my work differ from others of its genre?

Hmmm…. I write humorous picture book texts, mostly in rhyme. While none of that description is entirely unique, put together, it’s a bit different … from unfunny non-rhyming picture books. I can’t think of too many picture books that take place in refrigerators – that’s pretty different. And while there are some epistolary picture books out there (The Gardener by Sarah Stewart and illustrated by David Small is one of my favorite), there aren’t too many of those (especially written in rhyme … and about human-dragon relations).

The Gardener by Sarah Stewart and David Small

3. Why do I write what I write?

One of my goals is that I hope that my picture books appeal to both children and adults. Not that this would make them totally unique – there are LOADS of picture books that I enjoy – but there are enough that my many many many kids might like that I’d rather not spend my time reading. I’d like to think that children will want their parents to read my books over and over (and dare I say over) again … and the parents gladly do just that after every request.

4. How does my writing process work?

Honestly, I find it best not to think about that question. I just write what and when I’m inspired.

… unless someone asks me to join a blog tour. Then I spend hours and hours thinking about what to say.

Thanks for passing people along, Kris!

BLOG HOP DIES HERE

Take a comment, leave a comment

